Florida Teacher of the Year to Be Announced

Florida's 2015 Teacher of the Year is set to be named in Orlando

View Comments ()



    Florida's 2015 Teacher of the Year is set to be named in Orlando.
    Florida first lady Ann Scott, who will attend Thursday's ceremony, said it's an honor to join the state's best teachers to celebrate their commitment to their profession.

      The five finalists were chosen in May from 72 school district nominees: Jill Espinosa, of Belle Terre Elementary School in Flagler County; Lyndsey Matheny, of Citrus Elementary School in Indian River County; Kevin Ford, of Tarpon Springs High School in Pinellas County, Christie Bassett, of Highlands Grove Elementary School in Polk County; and Daryl Cullipher, of St. Augustine High School in St. Johns County.
    The ceremony is hosted by the Florida Department of Education and Macy's.
    The Teacher of the Year will receive a $10,000 grant funded by the Macy's Foundation.

    News breaks at inconvenient times.  Download the NBC6 mobile app and have the news come to you. Watch live streaming newscasts, receive critical push notifications on the go and stay in touch with your city around the clock. 


    Get the latest from NBC 6 South Florida anywhere, anytime: iPhone/iPad App | Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Instagram | RSS