Marlins' Mark Buehrle Wins Gold Glove Award - NBC 6 South Florida

Marlins' Mark Buehrle Wins Gold Glove Award

Mark Buehrle the first Marlins pitcher to win a gold glove, his fourth career award



    Marlins' Mark Buehrle Wins Gold Glove Award
    Getty Images

    Miami Marlins pitcher Mark Buehrle won his fourth straight Gold Glove award Tuesday. In his first year on the Marlins, Buehrle lived up to his reputation as a slick-fielding hurler, not committing a single error and accumulating 12 Defensive Runs Saved (an advanced statistic).

    The Marlins have little to be happy about this offseason, but Buehrle is one of the rare bright spots on the team. He signed a four-year $58 million contract with the team last winter.

    In 2012 he went 13-13 with a 3.74 ERA, pitching over 200 innings for the twelfth straight season. He made 13 putouts and 47 assists.

    Marlins Fire Ozzie Guillen

    "With a whole new group of managers voting for you, it wasn't like it was handed to you," Buehrle said. "The Gold Glove gets to be, 'He won it last year, give it to him again.' This one means a lot, because switching leagues, it was different managers voting on it. I had to do my job to earn it."

    Buehrle is the fifth Marlin to win a Gold Glove. Catcher Charles Johnson (1995-1997), 1B Derek Lee (2003), 2B Luis Castillo (2003-2005), and 3B Mike Lowell (2005) are the franchise's other winners.

    Buehrle won three times with the Chicago White Sox before joining the Marlins last winter. He was so good with his glove that he won a fourth straight Fielding Bible Award (given by a panel of statistically-minded journalists and researchers) as well. He is one of the few subjects the media old guard and new wave advanced stats types can agree on.

    Marlins Get Rid of Heath Bell

    Marlins SS Jose Reyes was a finalist for a Gold Glove, but was beat out at his position by Jimmy Rollins of the Philadelphia Phillies.

    The only other Marlin who might be considered for an end-of-season award is Giancarlo Stanton, a candidate for the Silver Slugger. MLB will announce that award on November 8.