Red Bull Flugtag at Bayfront Park on Saturday - NBC 6 South Florida

Red Bull Flugtag at Bayfront Park on Saturday

Dozens of teams will compete in the Red Bull Flugtag event at Bayfront Park on Saturday.



    Red Bull's annual Flugtag kicks off from Bayfront Park Saturday. The annual event brings teams across the country to Miami to see who can last in the air longest, before gravity kicks in. NBC 6's Justin Finch reports. (Published Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013)

    More than 95,000 people are expected to gather at Bayfront Park on Saturday to witness dozens of teams who will compete in the Red Bull Flugtag.

    Teams will show off their human-powered flying craft and leap off of a 28-foot-high ledge, seeing how far their contraptions fly before they crash into the water.

    Sounds simple, but there is a science behind it all, an engineer from Clemson University's Team Hammer Time said.

    "We actually did Auto CAD, which is a 3D modeling system, before we did anything," Erin Hammer said.

    The free event begins at noon and is open to the public.

    Officials recommend using public transportation such as the Metrorail, Tri-Rail or Metromover as traffic conditions are expected to be heavy in downtown Miami.

    NBC 6 traffic reporter, Kelly Blanco, will serve as one of the event's hosts.

    The Flugtag is about much more than which team flies the farthest. They're also judged on creativity and showmanship. So the teams will sport crazy costumes, and at least one is doing something even crazier – making a "brain" fly.

    Though all 27 teams have a pilot, for many of them Saturday will be their first flight.

    "This has never been flown before, I've never flown anything before, so this is true virgin airways," said Brendan McWilliams of Orlando's Plight of the Phoenix team.

    A team of judges will decide the winners, but fans who turn out at Bayfront Park will get to vote on their favorites.

    The competition will also be taking place simultaneously in Washington D.C., Long Beach, Chicago and Dallas-Fort Worth.

    To get a full list of teams competing in the event click here.