Leave it to Gov. Charlie Crist to be complete redundant, but this time it was for a good reason.
Crist signed into law, again, a law requiring children under 16 to wear a helmet while riding a horse on public roads. Now, not too many kids these days are pushing their ponies on local roads in South Florida, but the bill got its start down here.
Crist signed the bill on Monday at a park in Loxahatchee, where there is a memorial for Nicole Hornstein, a 12-year-old girl who died in 2006 after being thrown from a horse she was riding. She was not wearing a helmet.
Hornstein's family has tried since 2007 to get similar legislation passed. Under the law, any person who allows a child to ride a horse without a helmet can be fined $500. Some Florida cities already have laws that require minors to wear helmets when riding,
but the bill would make it mandatory around the state.