Hillsboro Beach Town Commissioner Loses Seat in Election

A Hillsboro Beach town commissioner lost his seat and a former mayor of Sea Ranch Lakes claimed a position on the Lauderdale-by-the-Sea Town Commission in Broward’s municipal elections Tuesday.

With all precincts reporting, Hillsboro Beach Town Commissioner Richard Maggiore (247 votes) and challenger Troy Link (244 votes) won the two seats available on the commission, according to unofficial results from the Broward County supervisor of elections.

They beat out Hillsboro Beach Town Commissioner James Lambert, who had 183 votes.

In Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Elliot Sokolow was elected a town commissioner with 486 votes. The former Sea Ranch Lakes mayor defeated former commissioner Birute Ann Clottey, who received 445 votes, and Eric Yankwitt of the Planning and Zoning Board, who had 203 votes.

Voters in Lauderdale Lakes opted to get rid of two seats on their city commission. The ballot question was approved by a 670-401 count. The charter amendment will shrink the commission from six to four members over the next two years, the South Florida Sun Sentinel reported.

On Tuesday voters also elected Kyle Van Buskirk over Tom Hasis for the Lighthouse Point City Commission. Hasis is a former commissioner, according to the Sun Sentinel.

In West Park, Brian Johnson emerged triumphant in a four-way race for the city commission. He will fill the unexpired term of the late commissioner Sharon Fyffe, the Sun Sentinel reported.

Four people were selected from seven candidates for Sea Ranch Lakes’ council. They were incumbents John Lewis Tomlinson and Ann Burke Spalding, Mayor Denise Barone Bryan – who could not run again for mayor because of term limits, according to the Sun Sentinel – and Caroline Evans Guida.

For complete election results, including ballot questions, click here.

Contact Us