Six South Florida Schools Get National Blue Ribbon Honor

The award can go to public or private schools, which will be honored in a ceremony in November in Washington, D.C.

Six South Florida schools were named National Blue Ribbon Schools of 2011 on Thursday.

The schools are: Archimedean Academy, Archimedean Middle Conservatory, Ethel Koger Beckham Elementary School, Oliver Hoover Elementary School, Somerset Academy Davie Charter School and The Samuel Scheck Hillel Community Day School/The Ben Lipson Hillel Community High School.

The schools will be honored at an awards ceremony on Nov. 14-15 in Washington, D.C.

"National Blue Ribbon Schools are committed to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers.Their success is an example for others to follow, " said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan in an email statement.

The award honors public or private elementary, middle and high schools where students are high-level achievers or where the gap in achievement is getting smaller.

For 2011 there will be 304 schools honored.

For more information on this year's winners click here.

Contact Us