Alonzo Mourning Officially Makes Hall of Fame - NBC 6 South Florida

Complete Coverage of the 3-Time NBA Champions

Alonzo Mourning Officially Makes Hall of Fame



    Alonzo Mourning Officially Makes Hall of Fame
    Getty Images for Usher's New Loo
    Alonzo Mourning

    Alonzo Mourning and NCAA championship-winning coaches Nolan Richardson and Gary Williams have been voted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

    Mourning is one of the more well-known names in Miami Heat history and he is at or near the top of a number of franchise records. A press release from the Heat points out that Mourning leads the franchise in blocks (1,625). In addition, the former center is tied for the franchise lead in offensive rebounds (1,505). To add to that already impressive list, Mourning is second in points scored (9,459), free throws made (2,558), total rebounds (4,807), defensive rebounds (3,302), double-doubles (205), and double digit scoring efforts (442). The Heat legend also had his number 33 retired by the team in 2009.

    The release goes on to point out that Mourning's contributions have come off the court as well. Often, class and character plays a big role in the induction of an athlete into an athletic Hall of Fame and Mourning certainly excels in that area. The Mourning Family Foundation, which was founded by Mourning, has raised over 10 million dollars since 1997 and aids in the development of children and their families. Mourning also started an initiative known as "Zo's Fund For Life" which raised four million dollars for kindey research. That is a cause near and dear to Mourning after his own battle with kidney disease that hindered his career.
    Richardson was chosen 20 years after he coached Arkansas to a national championship. Williams won a title with Maryland in 2002.
    Former NBA star Mitch Richmond also was part of the class that was announced Monday. They will be inducted at a ceremony Aug. 8 in Springfield, Mass., along with members who were already announced, including retired NBA Commissioner David Stern.
    Richardson's Razorbacks beat Duke for the 1994 title and made two other trips to the Final Four. Williams and the Terrapins beat Indiana for the title 12 years ago.
    Lithuania star Sarunas Marciulionis was among several candidates already selected by various committees.