Jackman, Rogen, Hathaway Among Oscar Invitees

Hugh Jackman, Seth Rogen, Oscar nominee Anne Hathaway and Oscar-winning director Danny Boyle have been invited into the exclusive Hollywood club that votes on the Academy Awards.

Others among the 134 people asked to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences include recent acting nominees Taraji P. Henson, Amy Ryan, Melissa Leo, Casey Affleck, Viola Davis and Michael Shannon. Jackman was host for the Oscars last February.

Michelle Williams, former girlfriend of 2008 posthumous supporting-actor winner Heath Ledger, also has been invited into the academy. Williams co-starred with Ledger in "Brokeback Mountain," earning a supporting-actress nomination for the film.

Other actors extended an academy invitation include James Franco, Paul Rudd, Emily Blunt, Emile Hirsch, Jeffrey Wright, Michael Cera, Jane Lynch and Brendan Gleeson.

Boyle won the directing Oscar last season for "Slumdog Millionaire," the best-picture champ that led with eight awards. His Oscar-winning "Slumdog" collaborators invited into the academy were producer Christian Colson, cinematographer Anthony Dod Mantle, composer A.R. Rahman and editor Chris Dickens.

Among other academy invitees: Paula Wagner, Tom Cruise's longtime producing partner; directors Tyler Perry, Rod Lurie and Thomas McCarthy; filmmaker James Marsh, whose "Man on Wire" won last season's documentary award; and writers Dustin Lance Black, who won a screenplay Oscar for "Milk," and Courtney Hunt, who earned a nomination for "Frozen River."

The academy has just under 6,000 voting members. The 82nd Oscars are scheduled for March 7.

Related Content from AccessHollywood.com:
VIEW THE PHOTOS: Oscars 2009: The Winners!
PLAY IT NOW: Oscars Ready To Super-Size Best Picture Category
PLAY IT NOW: Oscars 2009: Behind Jennifer Aniston's Makeup

MORE ACCESS ON THESE TOPICS: Oscars - Heath Ledger - James Franco - Michelle Williams - Seth Rogen

Copyright NBCAH - Access Hollywood
Contact Us